Personal Update

Hello all!

I haven’t posted since this summer so I wanted to give an update as to how I’m doing.

I arrived at my university a week and a half early to lead my organization’s training.  At first, I was anxious and full of self-doubt.  I wasn’t sure if I was doing anything right.  But when people reassured me that they gained from this training, it filled my bucket to the very top!  And I have to say that I’m so incredibly proud of this team I’m on.  We all give one another support and love, which makes our jobs much easier.  This is why I do what I do.  I meet the best people in the world by working in residence life.

For my eating habits, they’ve gotten much better.  I have been eating at least lunch and dinner every day (I’ve never been much of a breakfast person).  I’m not sure if I’ve gained any of the weight I lost back, but what truly matters is getting the proper nourishment and being healthy.  It’s nice to finally have an apartment where I can cook yummy and nutritious meals for myself.  Because I put effort into creating the food, I feel much better about eating it than I do picking up a meal in our school’s dining areas.

Keeping myself busy helps lower my depression.  I’ve been keeping a good schedule, finishing tasks on time without too much procrastination, and attending all of my classes.  As I said, the organization that I’m the president of is basically my life!  But I enjoy it so much so I don’t mind how busy it makes me.

Recently was accepted as a research assistant to an associate professor in our anthropology department through our honors program.  We will be studying materials on race and ethnicity in Brazil in order to form a course on the topic for next year, which will be taught at my university and in Brazil.  I’m beyond excited to work in this program and gain research experience.  This will be a great opportunity to learn new skills and learn more on race and ethnicity, which is important for a human relations professional.  It will be a great time!

So, as far as academics and involvement goes, things are quite bright and positive.

Around the start of the second week of school, the anxiety and depression started to hit again.  People with mental illness don’t lie when they say it’s a roller coaster ride.  Some days/weeks/months, you’re okay.  Some, you are not.  It has been hard, but I’ve done an okay job pushing through it and working through triggers.  I will be returning to counseling soon.  With my busy schedule, I have to work hard to find the right time to start again and fit sessions in.

With that, I end my update.  Thanks again to everyone who reads the blog, takes time to chat with me, and gives me feedback.  It’s all appreciated so much.  Remember, you are not alone.

Until next time, – Elissa

IMG_5057
“Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.” – Dumbledore
Leave a Reply

